Happy December First! New Hampshire Fall Foliage and Robert Frost!

Standard

We started the week with: I’ve never seen that before!!!

We continue with: Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost

 

 

And, in this poem, the rider stops to take a deep look at the woods and think about choices in his life!

This week was about paying attention and “noticing”/”seeing” what has always been there, but not been “seen/”noticed” before!

Robert Frost wrote this poem in New Hampshire—I googled New Hampshire Fall Foliage and am sharing a composite with you!

 

New Hamshire Foliage

Take a good look at what is in your life and make great choices each step of the way!!!!

 

 

Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening

Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

 

Here are some questions!

1) Does he know whose woods these are?

2) Will the owner see him stopping? Why?

3) How does the horse signify his/her question?

4) How does he describe the woods?

5) What are two possible interpretations of the last stanza?

 

Have a good one!

Sincerely,

Katie

katieadler-vo.com

@KAdlerEnglish (Twitter)

 

 

About englishwithkatie

英語 女性 ナレーター ケイティ・アドラー http://www.katieadler-vo.com/#!__home-japanese the Perfect Vocal Touch--I am a voice over artist for NHK, Panasonic, Mitsubishi, etc! Phrase of the Day--I am the creator of tweets and videos for daily English practice immersion! --Mono-logues; Mono-fun--I am the publisher of English language materials for self-study! I am very happy to be living and working in Japan surrounded by wonderful people in a fabulous environment!

2 responses »

  1. Katie san

    A lot of fall foliage in Hampshire is so beautiful. The poem is a little bit difficult for me, but I answered the questions.

    Nobuo

Leave a Reply

